Star Trek Timelines:Deletion policy
Adhere to the deletion policy.
- 1 Appropriate cases for page deletion
- 2 Cases where a page shouldn't be deleted
- 3 Deleting page revisions
- 4 See also
Appropriate cases for page deletion
- Advertising and spam. Posting random websites links doesn't contribute positively to the wiki.
- Pages that are filled with nonsense or gibberish. There is no point in keeping such content.
- Pages made about users or other Star Trek Timelines accounts in the (Main) namespace should be moved to the creator's userspace.
- Pages that are riddled with copyright violations. Taking images, lines of text, or entire pages from a website is not permitted.
- Useless images or images that do not relate directly to Star Trek Timelines.
- Images that are such a low quality that the image is indiscernible.
- that have been created by an unregistered user or those that possess content that blatantly violates one of Star Trek Timelines Wiki's policies (i.e. offensive language, scamming, copyright violation, etc.). Older user pages may be deleted only if the user requests this to be done. It is not possible to delete an account, though the userpage may be deleted and the account may be blocked.
- Useless Redirects, especially when the redirect is subjective. Redirects for common misspellings and typos, however, may be acceptable.
- Redirects left behind when moving a page between different namespaces or when renaming a file, more commonly known as "move artefacts".
- Pages in another language. This is an English Wiki, and content must be in English.
- Useless or duplicated categories/templates.
- If a user requests their userpage, or a subpage of his or her userpage, deleted.
- If consensus has been reached to delete the page on the pages talk page.
- If a version of the page has content that can be hazardous to its users or the wiki. This includes but is not limited to: Links to unverified applications, malware, material that is illegal under United States, English, or international law, and the unauthorised disclosure of personal details. Oversight should be requested for the offending edit instead of deleting the page outright, if possible.
- Duplicate files of the same item or location should be deleted, with preference going to the first image, or the oldest version of the image first. Multiple versions of essentially the same item or location can be merged together instead of being deleted as well.
- If a user has been indefinitely blocked, the user and talk pages should be deleted. Except in cases where talk pages contain valid discussion or points that are required to understand the block.
Cases where a page shouldn't be deleted
- Legal threats were made by a third party. The infringing page content should instead be removed, and at the third party's request, the edit overseen.
- Deleting would stir up a small controversy among editors, even if (a) criterion/criteria for deletion had been met.
Deleting page revisions
Administrators have the ability to selectively delete revisions and edit summaries from article and file histories. This should be used only in the following circumstances:
- The revision contains extremely offensive material. This includes graphic text descriptions or very large amounts of offensive language. Users are reminded to use common sense when deleting offensive revisions.
- The revision contains hazardous or offensive links. This includes links to inappropriate images or sites, as well as links to potential phishing sites.
- The revision contains personal information or personal attacks. This includes addresses, phone numbers, names, passwords, or other personal information.
- The revision contains changes that can be hazardous to those viewing it. This includes revisions with changes that may cause lag or browser instability.
- Certain copyright violations. This includes blatant copyright violations, DMCA take-down requests, or other formal requests filed by Disruptor Beam or other companies.
Page revisions can also be deleted for other reasons when deemed appropriate by community consensus. If you feel that a page has a revision that needs to be deleted, please leave a message linking to the revision on Star Trek Timelines:Admin noticeboard.
- Template:Delete, the template to nominate for deletion when it meets the above guidelines.